Board & Staff

Michael McGowan


IMG_0104 (1).jpg

Michael McGowan began his dance training at his mother’s dance studio in Clarksburg, WV. He continued his studies in various training programs at West Virginia University, National Academy of the Arts and North Carolina School of the Arts. He is a proud graduate of the Harid Conservatory of Dance in Boca Raton, FL where he studied with Tina Santos, Marjorie and Maria Tallchief, Helgi Tomasson, David Howard and Patricia Wilde, among others. Michael was a member of Hubbard Street Dance Chicago under the artistic direction of Lou Conte. With HSDC he toured the world performing the works of Twyla Tharp, Bob Fosse, Daniel Ezralow and Margo Sappington, among others. He was a guest artist of River North Dance Chicago under the artistic direction of Sherry Zunker, and appeared in a documentary about the company titled Reality of a Dreamer. He was also featured in Love in Four Acts for WTTW Chicago choreographed by the late Claire Battaille. Michael is forever grateful to Claire, Lou and Sherry for inspiring him to continue the legacy of artistic mentorship. Michael was the founder and Artistic Director of Kitchen Sink Dance Company and its satellite pre-professional ensemble. He continued his teaching and choreography at the Spence School in NYC, where he was the Chair of the Performing Arts Department and director of the dance program for fourteen years. Michael was awarded a choreographic residency with the Ucross Foundation in Wyoming. His work there ultimately led to the development of Flight Path Dance Project. Michael lives in NYC with his husband Steven Lutvak, who composed the music and co-authored the lyrics for the Tony Award-winning Best Musical A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder, and their daughter Eliot Rose.

Sean McCabe


IMG_0793 copy 3.jpg

Sean McCabe is a writer and musician from Ottawa, Canada. Sean holds a Master of Fine Arts degree from New York University’s Graduate Musical Theatre Writing Program (2018) as well as a Bachelor's of Education and a Bachelor's of Arts from Queen’s University in Canada. His musical Saint Sebastian (music by Jinhee Kim) has had two readings and one production in collaboration with NYU, Tisch New Musical Theatre Workshop and Collaborative Development & Production, and was most recently performed in concert at the Lincoln Center’s Bruno Walter Auditorium as part of the Broadway’s Future Songbook Series, produced by the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts. In 2016, Sean was accepted into Theatre 20’s Composium, a year-long writing lab in Toronto led by Canadian writer Leslie Arden, whom he interviewed for an article published in the Canadian Theatre Review in 2017. He is thrilled to be a part of the Flight Path team.

Maruti Evans



Maruti Evans is a New York–based set and lighting designer. He has received the Drama Desk Sam Norkin Award 2013 for the designs of Tiny Dynamite and Pilo Family Circus and Drama Desk nominations for Deliverance, In the Heat of the Night, Slaughterhouse 5, and Blindness. He is also the winner of an Audelco award for the First Irish Theatre Festival and has received two additional Audelco nominations, for Relativ­ity with the Ensemble Studio Theatre and Noon Day Sun with Diverse City Theater Company. His work includes Real Enemies, Epiphany, Else Where, and 21c Leiderabend (Brooklyn Academy of Music); Witness Uganda, Alice vs, Wonderland, and Mouth Wide Open (American Repertory Theater); Big Apple Circus (2016 and 2015); Cool Hand Luke, Deliverance, and Café Society Swing (59e59); Much Ado About Nothing(American Repertory Theater and McCarter Theatre); Master and Margarita (Summer Scape); An Oresteia (Classic Stage Company); Crowns (Goodman Theatre); Ballad of Emmett Till and Owl Answers and the Dutchman (Penumbra Theatre); Le nozze di Figaro, L’Ofero, and Turn of the Screw (Stony Brook Opera); and Sweeney Todd (Virginia Opera Company).

Board of Directors

Advisory Council

Laura Benanti

Linda Cho

Randy Graff

Vicki Warner

Janice Sands, President

LeeAna Wolfman, Vice-President

Ginger Norman, Secretary

Sylvie Scowcroft, Treasurer


Annabel Edelson

Steven Lutvak

Charles (Wally) Munro

Kenneth Roberson

Amanda Ryzowy

Emily Shaffer